Thanksgiving!

Hello! Sorry that it has taken me awhile to post here, but getting back into the swing of things after the wedding has been tough! Then throw in the fact that Thanksgiving (and the rest of the holiday season) is practically here, it has been quite the busy month!  For today I just wanted to outline the direction that I will be taking the blog over the next few weeks.  I know this isn’t the riveting post you readers crave, but I think it is important to let you know what will be going on here at the real hunger games.

The first thing that is going to be happening around here is that I am going to cut down my posts from three every week to either one or two.  I want to make sure that I am taking the time to really research the topics that I am giving you guys so that you can get the best information out there.  With three posts, that doesn’t always happen as I am trying my best to get the info out to you quickly.  I would rather focus on quality rather than quantity here and I think that in the long run the readers will benefit more.  Plus hopefully having more quality research up on the blog will inspire more reader feedback as well as dialogue about health and nutrition, which would be fantastic because I would really love to hear from you guys!

With that being said, I believe the topic that I am going to start looking into is the recommended daily allowance or RDA.  We have all heard of this or seen the pyramid as it is practically shoved in our faces constantly as the prime example of healthy eating.  But who decided this was the way EVERYONE should eat? When did the RDA come into effect?  Is it actually correct and worth following?  I’m going to take a look into the history of the RDA and then share how it should impact your daily eating habits.  This information can help serve as a springboard for you on the best way to eat healthy for your body and lifestyle, and that is what is most important, right?

Now, I couldn’t just completely ignore the fact that Thursday is Thanksgiving and one of the most indulgent (food-wise) holiday’s out there.  What kind of health and nutrition blog would I be if I did that?!  Don’t get me wrong, I love to eat.  Food and I have never really had many problems and I LOVE Thanksgiving.  The turkey, the cheesy potatoes, the sweet potatoes, the mashed potatoes (potatoes in any form really), and of course pumpkin pie.  It’s all mouth wateringly delicious.  But the one thing I have never liked about Thanksgiving is the feeling AFTER I am done shoving my face full of yummy goodness.  You know the one.  Unzipping your pants (or if you’re like Joey, you were smart and wore your turkey-eatin’ pants with the elastic waist), not wanting to move for an hour, and the huge ball of food just sitting in your gut.  But it’s the holidays Katie! Relax enjoy indulging just a little.  While I agree with this, it can be a slippery slope.  Starting with just a little extra on your plate at Thanksgiving, then one or two more cookies at Christmas , and partying it up at New Year’s with appetizers and booze.  The holiday season can quickly turn your healthy lifestyle into a thing of the past and then you start back at square one feeling defeated.

While I don’t want to tell you to change your holiday menu or tell you that you can’t enjoy one slice of pie, I do want to suggest adding a few healthier dishes to your plate.  There are some really delicious and healthy options out there that can help you stay on track and allow you to feel like you are still feasting away.  Tiffany over at the Gracious Pantry (http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/clean-eating-thanksgiving-dinner/) has an entire Thanksgiving menu that is entirely healthy and quite tasty.  Give a few of the side dishes a try and see how you feel after eating those instead of the normal heavier fare.  Probably a lot better and still pretty satisfied.  Also, make sure that you stick with some type of exercise routing throughout the holidays.  I do NOT advocate working out just so you can eat a huge meal (completely counter intuitive)  but regular exercise will give you the energy and stamina to make it through a busy holiday season.  Plus there are tons of fun winter workouts to try (sledding, skiing, ice skating) so you can be healthy and enjoy the winter season!

These are just a few helpful hints that I have learned from experience and have made the holidays a little healthier and a lot more enjoyable!  However you celebrate, I hope that you enjoy your day and give thanks for all the many blessings you have in your life.  I know I’ll be giving all the thanks for my fabulous family and my wonderful new husband! Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

