Hard pill to digest

Two guys walk into a restaurant and order the exact same burger and fries. (No this isn’t the start of a bad joke, I promise).  Both of these men are fairly similar in build, height, weight, in fact they are brothers.  After finishing their meals, they go about their days as normal.  Come evening though one brother is stuck running to the bathroom every few minutes and the other is just fine.  Why?  Some might say that the sick brother got food poisoning or maybe he has the flu or had too much to eat.

Those all could be causes of the unfortunate brother’s toilet pyrotechnics, but more and more would say that it in fact has to do with the microbes in his gut.  You have heard me talk about microbes before, and guess what? You get to hear me talk about it again!  I think that it is a very important key to ensuring that people live as healthy as possible.  I also have been experimenting and dealing with some digestion issues of my own and want to be able to share what I have learned in hopes that it might help one of my readers!

Everyone has millions of bacteria, both good and bad, living throughout their body.  This bacteria serves many different functions, and the bacteria in your gut helps you (yup you guessed it!) digest your food.  If you have a healthy gut and everything is functioning normally, chances are you don’t experience any digestive problems.  But for anyone who has dealt with IBS or Celiac’s, or a gluten/lactose sensitivity or any of the other hundreds of digestive ailments out there, you know all too well the agony of a bad gut.

While microbes and digestion are not a new topic, they are starting to gain some popularity lately and scientists are beginning to really look into how people’s guts differ and digest food.  In fact there is a really huge research project going on called the American Gut where researchers are collecting samples from people all over the world to better study digestion.  It is a lot like the Human Genome Project, but with your digestive organs.

All of the research that is starting to emerge is fascinating and I am slowly making my way through to try and learn as much as possible.  But what does this have to do with you and your health?  For awhile now I have been trying to listen to what my body has been telling me.  When I really started to tune in I noticed that after I ate certain things I had a tough time with digestion (read bloating, gas, diarrhea, constipation. I told you it’s not fun).  So I eliminated certain things and waited to see how I would be affected.  For the most part the foods I thought were causing problems (like wheat or dairy) actually were problems and I did better without them.  But there were still digestive issues and I decided to look further into my digestion and wondered if perhaps I had an imbalance of the good bacteria.

I’m still in the very beginning stages of learning/utilizing probiotics as a means to introduce healthy bacteria to my body.  Mainly I have done a lot of reading and in the last few weeks starting drinking kombucha tea, which is a fermented tea that contains probiotics.  It’s too early to say anything definitive yet, but I am excited about some of the progress I have made.  So in the coming weeks I will keep working with my gut and sharing with you what has helped and what hasn’t, kind of like a human guinea pig.  This is all a learning process and I think that it will help both you and I to share that process!

Be on the lookout for more posts about digestion as I read and absorb more of the material and be ready to hear about my experiences first hand.  If you ever have any questions along the way, ASK! I would love to hear from you and help with issues important to YOU!

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend, I know I did!  That’s because I got to spend Saturday and Sunday with my sister!  We had a great time hanging out, watching movies, and eating yummy food (aka lots o’ popcorn).  It was wonderful to see her and de-stress from the week.  We all need to spend more time with our loved ones, it really does the body good! Have a great week and I will see you soon!

 

pretty impressive sisters! (sorry it's blurry!)

pretty impressive sisters! (sorry it’s blurry!)

