Eggplant Garlic Bake

I know! You’re totally shocked (and immensely excited) that I am posting twice in one week!  Usually I only do one post per week, but have decided to start posting a few times a week so that I can share with you some recipes that I use frequently in my kitchen.  If you follow me on Instagram, you can see pictures of all the meals I make day to day.  Now you can get the recipe here on my blog!

Today I am going to share a super easy (and delicious) meal that I make in my slow cooker.  I have raved about my slow cooker a lot and it is for good reason.  What could be better than throwing a bunch of ingredients into one pot, hitting a button, and getting a delicious meal in a few hours?  Not much.  Except peanut butter. Or sweet potatoes…

Eggplant Garlic Bake 

photo (1)

  • 2 medium eggplants
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1/3 cup tahini (sesame seed butter)
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tsp basil
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup diced tomatoes

Start by cutting the eggplant into bite size chunks.  Lay a paper towel out and sprinkle some salt on it.  Lay the eggplant pieces out on the paper towel and sprinkle with a little more salt and then cover with more paper towels.  Leave the eggplant to sit for 20 minutes while you prepare the rest of the recipe. *DON’T skip this step or you’ll end up with bitter tasting eggplant and that is just not fun!

In a medium bowl combine your onion, garlic, tahini, tapioca starch, water, and seasonings. Mix together, it may seem like there won’t be enough liquid for it to come together but keep mixing.  You will end up with an onion, garlic paste.

Take your eggplant and make a single layer in your slow cooker.  Next top the eggplant with some of your tahini paste (it tastes a lot better than it sounds, promise!).  Keep layering eggplant and the tahini until you run out, making sure to finish with a layer of eggplant.  Top the eggplant with diced tomatoes.  Cover and cook on low for 6 to 7 1/2 hours.

You can eat this on it’s own or serve over rice or even make a sandwich with some whole wheat bread.  Oh and make sure that you save some for leftovers because it tastes even better the next day! Enjoy!

