Potato Crust Frittata

After my slow cooker, I would say that my cast iron skillet is my most used cooking device. It is amazing! I have my husband to thank for introducing me to the cast iron skillet before we were married I had never used one. It is so versatile and one of my favorite ways to cook up my “skillet scrambles”. If you follow my Instagram you have no doubt seen my weekly scramble. Today I am going to share with you my recipe for a frittata with a potato crust. It is easy to make and easy to create your own flavors. If you don’t have a cast iron skillet (go and buy one immediately), you can just use an oven safe pan.

Potato Crust Frittata

photo (3)

  • 4-5 large eggs
  • 1 medium red or russet potato
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

1. Start heating up your cast iron skillet and preheat your oven to 400.  While everything is heating up, cut your potato into slices.  You don’t want them too thick your crust will turn out soggy.

2. Once your skillet is heated, line the bottom and sides with your potato slices, making sure they are close together to start forming your crust.  Season with a little pepper and garlic.

3. While the potatoes are browning, whisk the eggs, milk, onions, and seasonings in a mixing bowl.  After about 5 min, pour the egg mixture over the potatoes.

4. Cook for a few minutes on the stove and then transfer the skillet to the oven.  Cook in the oven for 10-15 minutes.  The frittata is done  when the middle is no longer wiggly (yes that is a technical cooking term)

5. Remove the frittata from the oven (careful! It’s hot) and let cool for 2 minutes before cutting into slices and serving.

Like I said before, you can play with whatever flavors you want.  I have done a Mexican version of this as well with corn kernels, black beans, and taco seasoning.  It’s up to you! Enjoy!

