Simple Dessert Idea

I don’t post many dessert recipes here because I really don’t make that many desserts, which is unfortunate for my husband, a certified dessert fiend.  Don’t worry, I make him pies and brownies and the occasional batch of cookies.  I do have a go to treat for myself though when the craving for sweet strikes me.  It is a really simple treat and most of you will probably tell me that it is not a treat at all. Oh well, your loss.  The treat? Frozen bananas.  Yup, that’s my go to dessert.  Before you leave and go searching for a real dessert post, here me out!  Frozen bananas are so versatile.  You can add toppings, or mash them up and make a soft serve ice cream, or even bake them in the microwave for a warm dessert.  Right now my favorite way to enjoy them is semi frozen and sprinkled with some cinnamon and a little sea salt.  There are so many options and you can feel like you’re indulging without really going overboard.  Here are a few ways that you can enjoy frozen bananas:

  • Frozen, topped with peanut/almond/any nut butter and cinnamon
  • Blended up to a soft serve consistency and topped with dark chocolate chips or nuts or berries
  • As an add in to your favorite smoothie combination
  • Mashed up and mixed with whatever topping you like then popped in the microwave for 30-40 seconds

There are really countless ways to make this dessert to your tastes.  So before you totally dismiss me for being a weirdo that thinks frozen bananas can be a dessert (trust me I’m a weirdo for many other reasons), give it a try and let me know what you think!

Frozen banana with cinnamon and sea salt. Delicious!

Frozen banana with cinnamon and sea salt. Delicious!

