Oatmeal Bar

No, this isn’t the name of some hip new club (do people still go to clubs? I’m the worst 26 year old ever).  It’s also not a breakfast bar like a granola bar, but it does have to to with breakfast.  I love breakfast.  It is my favorite meal of the day and I like to have a big breakfast.  So many delicious things get to be made and eaten at breakfast and who doesn’t love delicious food?  I think oatmeal gets a bad rap at breakfast.  Either it is full of sugar and additives or it’s plain, gluey, and tasteless.  Oatmeal doesn’t have to be sad! It also doesn’t have to come from a little paper packet that tastes sweeter than a candy bar.

I have started making a big pot of steel cut oats on Sunday mornings and then setting up a toppings bar.  I put out little bowls of things like raisins, chocolate chips, coconut, or goji berries.  This way my husband and I can customize our oatmeal just the way we like it.  Oatmeal is a great way to start the day.  It is full of fiber to keep you full and going all morning long.  I personally like steel cut oats because they are the least processed of all oats, but thick rolled oats are good too and cook a little faster.  Below is how I cook my oats and then a list of topping ideas for you.  There really are limitless options when it comes to oatmeal!

Cooked Steel Cut Oatmeal

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Put oats, water and cinnamon into a medium saucepan.  Stir everything together and then turn heat on high.  Bring to a boil.  Once it’s boiling, stir everything once then put a lid on and turn the heat down to a simmer.  Cook for about 15 to 20 minutes.  Your oatmeal should have a porridge like texture.  Top with delicious things like:

  • raisins
  • goji berries
  • cranberries
  • apricots
  • sunflower seeds
  • coconut shreds
  • chocolate chips
  • maple syrup
  • flax seeds
  • chia seeds
  • pumpkin seeds
  • almonds
  • pistachios
  • walnuts
  • peanut butter
  • almond butter
  • apples
  • nutmeg
  • cloves

These are just a few ideas for you to get started.  You could even go the savory route with your oatmeal.  Just eliminate the cinnamon when you are cooking your oats.  Then add in things like homemade salsa, garlic, oregano, or even hummus.  The possibilities are endless, so get cooking and enjoy a bowl of delicious and healthy oatmeal!

