DIY Wednesday: Ginger Paste

ThisDIY Wednesday: Ginger Paste | Life Healthfully Lived DIY post might be as simple as my homemade tortilla chips.  I’m the type of cook who likes to use things like actual cloves of garlic when I’m making stuff.  I know you can buy a jar of diced garlic at the store and it saves a lot of time and effort because you can just throw in the amount you need and move on.

I have nothing against jars of garlic, I just like peeling and chopping garlic myself.  The one thing I do not like peeling and chopping myself?

Ginger.

Peeling it is a hassle.  If you chop it the wrong way you get these weird hair looking things in it.  It’s just a chore for me.  I really love using fresh ginger though and I’m always tempted to buy those tubes of ginger paste at the store just to avoid the trouble.  The one thing that stops me though is the price.  Those tubes are like $3.00 and sometimes they have things other than just ginger in them.  So I skip the tube and begrudgingly prepare my ginger myself.

Not anymore!  Today I am going to show you how easy it is to make your own ginger paste and start adding it to everything you make.  The best part?  You only need two things and a blender.  Awesome right?!

Ginger Paste

DIY Wednesday: Ginger Paste | Life Healthfully Lived

  • 1 large knob of fresh ginger, about 2 cups roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup water
  1. Peel the ginger.  I use a vegetable peeler to do this because it’s easier than a knife.  Try to get as much of the peel off as you can.  If you can’t reach some places peel it a little after you chop it.
  2. Chop the ginger into bite-size chunks and add to your blender.  Pour in the water.  Blend the ginger and water until it is in paste form and no big chunks remain.
  3. Store the paste in an airtight container in the fridge for up to two weeks.

That’s it!  It is so simple and now I don’t have to go through the peeling and chopping every time I want to use fresh ginger.  Just once and then I have a whole jar to use!  You can also make a huge batch and freeze some of it so it is always on hand.  Add this paste to marinades, sauces, stir fry, dips, or even add it to hot water for some ginger tea.  So many uses!DIY Wednesday: Ginger Paste | Life Healthfully Lived

Make sure that you are never without fresh ginger and have a jar of ginger paste always on hand.

