Zucchini-Sweet Potato Muffins

This recipe was totally made because I had a few random zucchini’s and sweet potatoes I needed to use up.  I thought muffins would be nice and then halfway through making them ON THE HOTTEST DAY OF THE WEEK, I realized I was dumb.  But that’s ok, they were tasty enough that I forgave myself for turning on the oven. Zucchini Sweet Potato Muffins | Life Healthfully Lived

But for reals though, I am seriously over this humidity.  I love summer and I love warm but this humidity is just draining the energy out of me.  I’m constantly sweaty and I’ve completely given up on trying to look presentable because I know I will be a puddle by the end of the day.  When I get dressed in the morning I just pick the outfit that will be the least uncomfortable if it is sticking to my sweat.

Nice image there, huh?  What can I say?  I keep it classy. Zucchini Sweet Potato Muffins | Life Healthfully Lived

While we’re on the topic of clothes, can I just feel I feel totally inadequate in this area?  I’m 28 (almost 29) and I still have no idea how to be fashionable.  It’s just not in my DNA.  It probably doesn’t help that I don’t have a regular job that I have to go to every day, but I just have no innate fashion sense.  And let’s not even get into hair and makeup because that is just a hot mess no one wants to deal with.

So, who wants to come be my personal stylist?  I can pay you in delicious food starting with these muffins.  Which have a fun chocolate center so it’s pretty much like money.  Any takers?

Zucchini-Sweet Potato Muffins with Chocolate Center Zucchini Sweet Potato Muffins | Life Healthfully Lived

  • 1 medium zucchini, grated (about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 medium sweet potato, peeled and grated (about 1 cup)
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup green banana flour *see notes
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 bar of dark chocolate, broken into pieces *see notes
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and line a muffin tray with paper cups.
  2. Slice and scoop your avocado into a large bowl and mash it well with a fork.  You want all large chunks to be gone.  Add the eggs and maple syrup and whisk together with the avocado until everything is smooth.
  3. Grate the zucchini and sweet potato into the wet ingredients and stir to combine.
  4. In a medium bowl whisk together all of the dry ingredients and then slowly add it to the wet.  Stir until everything is incorporated.  The dough will be very stiff and that’s ok.
  5. Portion out about 2 tbsp of dough per muffin liner and spread it out a bit.  Push a piece of dark chocolate into the center of each muffin.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and check to see that the edges are brown.  If it still feels a little undercooked, bake for another 5 minutes.
  6. Let the muffins cool in the tray for 5 minutes and then move to a wire rack to cool completely.

Notes: Green banana flour is a gluten-free flour that is made from, you guessed it, green bananas.  I found mine at my Whole Foods but you can get it online from Amazon as well.  If you can’t or don’t want to use it you could try coconut flour, but I didn’t test it. You might need to add a little liquid so try a few tablespoons of coconut milk.

I used Lindt 90% dark chocolate bars for my muffins, but you can use your favorite or chocolate chips or skip it.  But who skips chocolate? Zucchini Sweet Potato Muffins | Life Healthfully Lived

