3 (Food) Things I’m Excited About For Fall

Cool air.  Football season.  New produce on the shelf. Pumpkin EVERYTHING. Changing leaves.  My birthday.  My anniversary. 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

There are literally a million reasons that I love fall.  It’s no secret that it’s my favorite season and every time it starts to draw near, I get excited about all the changes.  What am I usually most excited about when it comes to fall?

Food.

Obviously.  Are you really all that shocked?  Pretty much for any season I get excited for the food it brings.  Food is just the best.

I thought I would share three of my favorite fall food things I’m most excited about so you can start getting excited about it too!

Apples

Sure, you can get apples all year round but they just TASTE better during the fall when they’re actually in season.  Plus, you get to go apple picking and make all the delicious things with apples.

Gluten-Free Apple Ring Pancakes 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Apple-Banana Muffins 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Caramelized Onion & Roasted Apple Soup 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Squash Apple Butter 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Squash

Yes, pumpkin is great but it gets all the glory during the fall when there are dozens of other squash varieties that are just as good.  Kabocha, delicata, acorn, spaghetti, butternut, carnival.  All delicious and all are abundant in fall, so experiment with a new-to-you squash!  And of course get a little pumpkin in there too 😉

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Butternut Mushroom Risotto 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Pumpkin Gnocchi 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Butternut Spinach Gnudi 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Soups/Stews/Casseroles

After sweating to death during the summer and rarely ever turning on my oven, I relish roasting things again, creating warm soups again, and throwing a bunch of things in a casserole dish and topping it with a creamy sauce again.  Salads are tasty but soup is pretty much soul food.

Creamy Tomato Soup 

3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Ahhh, the good old iPhone pictures.

Butternut Peanut Stew 

3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Unfortunately NOT an iPhone picture…

Hearty Vegetable Cassoulet 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

Mexican Bell Pepper Casserole 3 (Food) Things I'm Excited About For Fall | Life Healthfully Lived

What do you love about fall?  Food related or not 🙂

