Green Chili Pie

I struggled with a name for this thing.  It was one of those recipe ideas that came to me while I was standing in front of my pantry hoping something would jump out and say make me. Green Chili Pie | Life Healthfully Lived

I wasn’t actually hoping for much when I threw this together.  When my husband asked what it was I told him I had no clue.  He only looked slightly scared as he took the first bite.  When he turned to me and said I could make this again, I knew I would have to come up with a name.

I thought about just calling it George, but that’s weird even for me.  I thought about Green Chili Casserole, which it technically is as well, but I thought Green Chili Pie was fun and I have enough recipes on my blog with “casserole” in the title.

Isn’t my life thrilling?

Whatever you want to call this one, George or Green Chili Pie, it’s pretty tasty.  And it’s pretty hard to mess up so I’m gonna call this a win.

Green Chili Pie Green Chili Pie | Life Healthfully Lived

  • 3 cans of fire-roasted, diced green chilis (4 oz each)
  • 1 cup full-fat coconut milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 2 tbsp tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 batch of my quesadilla cheese OR 3 cups Mexican blend shredded cheese
  • 1 can tomato sauce, 8 oz
  • 1 tsp Mexican oregano (regular oregano also works)
  1. Preheat oven to 400. If you haven’t already, make the quesadilla cheese and set aside.
  2. Lightly oil a 9 x 9 pan and layer the green chilis on the bottom in an even layer.  You want to try and cover the whole bottom.  Next, evenly spread the quesadilla cheese on top.
  3. Combine the almond flour and tapioca starch and whisk to fully mix.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the coconut milk and eggs.  Add the flour and seasonings and whisk again until everything is fully incorporated.  Pour this over the cheese.
  4. Drizzle the tomato sauce on top and then finish with the oregano.  Bake in the oven for 40 minutes.  The top should be browning and completely set.  If it isn’t, bake for another 5 minutes.
  5. Let it cool for 10 minutes before you slice and serve!

Green Chili Pie | Life Healthfully Lived

