Sweet Potato Egg Nests

Remind me why I decided to move Easter weekend?  Better yet, remind me why I decided to move at all?

Today is our last day in our first Chicago apartment and we’re working on packing the last of our stuff, picking up our new keys, and getting ready to do all the heavy lifting tomorrow.  As much as I hate moving, I’m ready to move to our new place.  I loved our first apartment in the big city but it’s time to move on. Sweet Potato Egg Nests | Life Healthfully Lived

Although, I still wish I had looked at a calendar when I picked our move-in date so that I wouldn’t choose Easter weekend.  We usually do a brunch with my family but due to our move (and lack of food/kitchen access I’ll have) and a few other factors, we’re doing brunch at a country club near my sister.  Even though we aren’t making the food, it will be nice to spend some time with family. Sweet Potato Egg Nests | Life Healthfully Lived

If you DO have access to a kitchen and AREN’T moving this weekend though, you should totally make these adorable Sweet Potato Egg Nests.  I mean come on, how cute are these things?  I made these as another recipe for Anne and her Pampered Chef parties but I love how great these are for a crowd.  You can make a bunch of them all at once and everyone gets’s their own little egg nest.  How much Easter-y/Spring-ier can you get? Sweet Potato Egg Nests | Life Healthfully Lived

I topped these with a little sour cream and chives but if you’re feeling fancy you can try hollandaise sauce or my Chive Dressing.  All are tasty options and since you have extra time while making these, you can afford to get a little fancy!

Happy Easter friends!

Sweet Potato Egg Nests Sweet Potato Egg Nests | Life Healthfully Lived

  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled
  • 6-12 eggs, depending on how many nests you want
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil
  • Sour cream, optional
  • 2-3 tbsp chives, optional
  1. Preheat oven to 400 and lightly oil a muffin tin. Trim the ends off the sweet potato and then peel it.
  2. Cut the potato in half and then use the spaghetti blade of your veggie spiralizer* and spiralize the whole potato. Run your knife through the veggie noodles a few times to break them up a little.
  3. Take about ¼ cup of the sweet potato noodles and press it into the muffin tin, making a little well to hold the egg. Sprinkle a little garlic powder into the wells and continue this with the rest of the sweet potato noodles. Sweet Potato Egg Nests | Life Healthfully Lived
  4. Bake the noodles alone for 10 minutes, then remove and crack an egg into each well. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and place back in the oven.  Bake for 10 minutes for a runnier yolk and 15 to 20 minutes for a firmer yolk. Sweet Potato Egg Nests | Life Healthfully Lived
  5. Run a butter knife along the edges of each nest and gently remove from each well. Top with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of chives.

If you don’t have a Pampered Chef spiralizer, just use the smallest blade setting on your own spiralizer.  If you don’t have a spiralizer at all you can use the shredding blade on your food processor, or the smallest side of your box grater. 

Leave a Reply

