Baked Chickpea Tofu with Creamy Tomato Sauce

While I don’t eat meat, I don’t really eat that many soy products either.  I am a huge fan of tempeh and miso because they are fermented soy and have healthy probiotics, but other than that I don’t eat soy.  I like to make as much of my food as possible, because then I can control the ingredients and it is a lot cheaper.  So when I started seeing things about chickpea tofu, I was intrigued.

I love chickpeas in all their forms and had seen a lot of things made with chickpea flour but I could never find it any stores near me.  The other day as I was wandering the aisles of my grocery store (yes, I like to just stroll through the grocery store.  I know that’s weird, but I’m weird so it’s all good) I spotted chickpea flour for about $2.  I snapped it up and immediately started thinking of things that I could make.  This chickpea tofu was one of the easiest and most versatile dishes, so I started there.

Not only is it easy to make it can function in pretty much the exact same way as regular soy tofu.  I’m still experimenting with a few different ways to use chickpea tofu, but I wanted to start sharing it with you.  I love the flavor of the tofu and you can season it in any way that you want and it will absorb those flavors.  It might look like this recipe will take forever to make, but once the tofu is done it’s really just a matter of putting everything together.

Enough talking let’s get onto the food!

Baked Chickpea Tofu with Creamy Tomato Sauce

DSC_0480

Chickpea tofu- There are a few methods out there, but this is the one that worked the best for me.

  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 3 cups water, divided
  • 1-2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric

1.  In a medium bowl combine flour, salt, turmeric, and 1 cup of water.  Whisk until smooth.

2. In a medium saucepan bring the remaining two cups of water to a boil.  While your water is heating up, lightly oil an 8 x 8 baking dish and set aside

3.  Whisk the chickpea mixture into the boiling water making sure there are no lumps.  Lower heat and keep whisking the chickpea mixture for about 8 to 10 minutes until it’s thick and glossy.

4. Pour the chickpea mixture into the oiled pan and let cool on the counter.  Once cool, keep in the fridge until you are ready to use.

Baked Tofu and Creamy Tomato Sauce

  • Chickpea Tofu
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic
  • 2 tsp italian seasonings
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 batch of my tomato sauce, or a jar of your favorite sauce
  • 1 cup full fat coconut milk

DSC_0484

1.  Preheat oven to 425 and take your chickpea tofu out of the fridge and remove from baking dish.  If you used enough oil it should slide out easily.  Blot the bottom of the tofu with a paper towel to absorb some of the excess water. Cut tofu into bite size cubes and place in a bowl

2.  Line a baking dish with a Silpat or parchment paper.  Drizzle a little olive oil over tofu and sprinkle with the seasonings.  Shake the bowl to cover the tofu with the oil and seasonings and then spread in an even layer on baking dish.

3.  Bake for 25 minutes.  While tofu is baking, heat tomato sauce in a medium saucepan over medium high heat.  When it is just simmering, stir in 1 cup of coconut milk.  Heat through and then cover and turn off heat.

4.  Remove tofu from oven and let cool for a few minutes.  Plate the tofu and pour the tomato sauce over and enjoy!

 

It does seem like there are a lot of steps to this meal, but if you prepare the tofu ahead of time then this meal is a simple fix.  I made this on a Monday night and it was a perfect meal on a chilly night. Warm, filling, and tasty!

I’m going to be bringing you some more chickpea tofu/flour recipes over the next few weeks, but with the super bowl next weekend I have a special treat for you!  My balsamic cauliflower bites are amazing and sure to be a hit at your party!

Have a great Friday and an awesome weekend everyone!